What’s In A Name

Ever since I came to this area in New York, I have been driving by the locally owned eatery Anderson’s.  Each time we would pass it, that little spark of pride would beat through my heart and I would think “that’s my name.”   Crazy how it really has nothing to do with me, but our names link us together and give us belonging and a sort of ownership.

A few days ago, I had the opportunity to witness the baptism of a beautiful young woman.  There she stood all dressed in white walking slowly into the water.  The worthy priesthood holder offered the baptismal prayer and slowly immersed her in the water.  As she emerged, cleansed from all sin, I thought how in the act of baptism we literally take upon us the name of Jesus Christ.   

We are all children of God, but in a very literal and real way we become a part of Christ’s family.  What a glorious blessing!  I can think of no other name of which I would like to belong to.  I invite all of you to think about your commitment and relationship with the Savior.  As the Book of Mormon prophet Alma taught that if it is the desire of your heart to follow your Savior and through Him find peace “…what have you against being baptized in the name of the Lord, as a witness before him that ye have entered into a covenant with him, that ye will serve him and keep his commandments, that he may pour out his Spirit more abundantly upon you?” (Mosiah 18:10)

When we do so we have available to us all of the blessings He has promised including a remission of past sins and transgressions and rebirth as a member of His eternal family.  We, in turn, promise to take his name upon us and promise to follow the commandments or rules of His house.  How great to be able to stand as a witness for Him.  I know that baptism is a blessing from God.  Something that we can physically do to show him that we love him and are commited to following Him. 

“Yea, blessed is this people who are willing to bear my name; for in my name shall they be called…” (Mosiah 26:18)

About sisteranderson2011

Hi. My name is Brittany Anderson. I am a small town girl from central Utah who love sports and sleeping under the stars. I am currently serving as a missionary for the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints in the Rochester New York Mission.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

