Another Witness: He is Risen!

This Easter season, my heart was once again filled with hope and joy as I read the words of Christ’s apostles telling the stories of those to whom appeared the glorious Resurrected Christ.  “He is Risen” the angels declared unto them.  What a hopeful declaration!!  Jesus had come to the Earth and had done all that was necessary to activate his Father’s perfect plan of happiness.  The sting of death that lay hold upon every mortal being had been swallowed up.

My testimony of the Savior and His victory over sin and death has increased as I have read and prayed about the accounts written in the New Testament.  A more recent account of Risen Christ’s appearance, that of Joseph Smith’s, is also a big part of increasing my faith in the Savior. Joseph Smith also gave His life to the cause of Christ after recieving His own witness.  In the year of 1820, young Joseph knelt in a grove of trees to plead in humble prayer with God.  At this time in upstate New York, there was a huge wave of revivialism and religious recruiting could be found on almost every corner.  The contending of doctrines and confusion of friends, neighbors, and even family caused him much greif.  While reading in the bible, Joseph happened upon a scripture which directed “if any of ye lack wisdom, let him ask of God” (James 1:5), and thus he was decided that he needed take his question to the Source of all knowledge and truth.  It was this that led him to offer his humble prayer from which he recieved a miraculous answer.  Joseph records:

“I saw a pillar of light exactly over my head, above the brightness of the sun, which descended gradually until it fell upon me… When the light rested upon me I saw two Personages whose brightness and glory defy all description, standing above me in the air. One of them spake unto me, calling me by name and said, pointing to the other—This is My Beloved Son. Hear Him!”  (Joseph Smith – History 1:16-17)

I have read this beautiful account of God the Father and Jesus Christ appearing to the prophet Joseph Smith many many times, prayed, and felt in my heart and mind that Christ did not only appear to the people in times of old.  But He is very much aware of our time and our situation.  God has not forgotten or abondoned His children!  We are His work.  Like a parent helping their precious child learn and grow, it is in our success that our Father finds His greatest joy and it is for our sorrows that He weeps.  I know with all my heart that Christ lives!  That through Joseph Smith, Christ has restored His church and the fulness of His gospel back upon the earth.  I invite you each to once read and/or read again the experience of the prophet Joseph Smith.  Then, do as Joseph did, and ask God the deepest questions of your heart.  You may not recieve a vision, but I promise that the Holy Ghost will touch your heart and you will know that Christ has risen and appeared in our day and that He leads His church.

 

This video is about the prophet Jospeh and His life.   Maybe after watching you can more fully find answers to the questions “Why after so much persecution did he not deny His vision?”  “Why did he not give up or give in when even his close friends wanted to turn their backs?”  I know that Joseph was called as a prophet of God and that a marvelous work and a wonder is moving forward.  I am so grateful to be a missionary and contribute my small part to our Savior’s great work.     

  

About sisteranderson2011

Hi. My name is Brittany Anderson. I am a small town girl from central Utah who love sports and sleeping under the stars. I am currently serving as a missionary for the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints in the Rochester New York Mission.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

