My Sheep Know My Voice

I often try to imagine what it would be like to live in the time of Jesus Christ as he walked along the roads of Galilee.  What a glorious experience it would have been to witness the miracles and be taught from His very mouth those precious words of salvation.  Can you imagine the love that might have filled your heart and the gratitude for His selfless kindness that would have permeated your every thought?  I like to think I would have known Him and recognized Him as the promised One, following and listening to His every word, but it seems that so many did not.  How could they have rejected such miracles, such love, and such hope?  Though many had claimed to have read the words of the prophets prophesying of His coming, when He stood in their midst and said come follow me, they “went back and walked no more with him” (John 6:66). 

A testimony of Jesus as the Christ does not come from seeing with our physical eyes his miraculous movement of matter just like it did not convince so many of old.  But our testimony of Christ will come as we learn to recognize and give heed to His voice.  We are so lucky today to have the prophet’s words both ancient and modern to help us to come to know our Savior and come to know the sound of His voice.  Through the scriptures we can read the words and testimonies of ancient prophets.  Mormon, a prophet who’s record is found in the Book of Mormon says “we talk of Christ , we rejoice in Christ, we preach of Christ, we prophesy of Christ that our children may know to what source they may look for a remission of their sins” (2 Nephi 25:26).  All that is written by these prophets are to point us to and help us come to know our Master, Jesus Christ.  I know that the Bible is the word of God and that as we read it we can come to know Christ.  I also know that the Book of Mormon teaches of this same Jesus Christ as the Redeemer and Savior of the world.  As we read from both we can come to recognize His voice and be filled with His Spirit.

We must also come to know his voice now by reading from the scriptures and listening to the modern prophets that when that great day comes in which the Son of God will appear, we shall be amoung His fold.  For Christ has said, “My sheep hear my voice, and I know them, and they follow me.” (John 10:27)  God has called and appointed prophets on the earth today that continue to witness of the “reality of His matchless life and the divinity of His infinite Atonement” ( “The Living Christ: The Testimony of the Apostles,” 2000).  This weekend we have the opportunity to listen to these men who are called of God to witness of His Son.  I invite you to listen to their words, hearken to their counsel, and as you do so I promise that little by little you will come to know the Shepherd.  Till you too can join with the prophets of old and those who stand as His witnesses today in saying “I know that my Redeemer lives!!” (Job 19:25)

About sisteranderson2011

Hi. My name is Brittany Anderson. I am a small town girl from central Utah who love sports and sleeping under the stars. I am currently serving as a missionary for the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints in the Rochester New York Mission.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

